Undefined poker subject

General strategy discussion.

Moderator: Moderator

Youstand
3 star member
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 5:13 am

AK

Postby Youstand » Sun Feb 05, 2006 8:44 pm

how much sould i raise AK in late position with 5 limpers and one raiser
early tourney, small blinds
Ruspinfirl
2 star member
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 8:55 am

Postby Ruspinfirl » Sun Feb 05, 2006 8:49 pm

I'd go for five times the bb.
Get rid of the lucky limpers
Frook1971
4 star member
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 9:15 am

Postby Frook1971 » Wed Feb 08, 2006 11:17 pm

The answer can only come with the understanding of the play on your table. Will most lay down for a 5 times raise at that point? First thing you want to think about what is your goal? You should want to get it down to heads up hopefully against A rag. I generally recommend just limping at that point if you can't make most fold to a reasonable bet. Hope you hit and then get paid otherwise easy to dump.
Thertat
1 star member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 8:41 pm

ak

Postby Thertat » Wed Feb 08, 2006 11:23 pm

tricky hand i usually end up in a race
Antely84
1 star member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 2:55 am

Postby Antely84 » Wed Mar 01, 2006 12:05 am

You gotta go all in with AK.  Don't let other people see the flop.
Reak1974
3 star member
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 3:51 pm

Postby Reak1974 » Fri Mar 03, 2006 10:21 pm

Good advice Truushot.  Nothing makes your stomache sink worse than when you have bet 5xBB and had callers and you don,t catch !!! All you have is ACE HIGH. And then you get raised, yet most people get defiant and will still refuse to lay down an ACE/KING !! They will chase it to there death !!!  It,s not much use at start of game with small blinds !!
Frothed
2 star member
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 11:20 pm

re

Postby Frothed » Fri Mar 03, 2006 10:35 pm

That choice depends on the flow of the tournament and how much your stack is. But it to your advantage to be in a late postion to see motre of what is happening
Thencass
1 star member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 4:24 am

Postby Thencass » Tue May 23, 2006 1:32 am

Yeah, depends on postition and size of your stack, blinds, skill level.
Coraven
1 star member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 6:12 pm

Postby Coraven » Fri May 26, 2006 7:56 am

Slow playing aa kk is a really bad choice unless you know the people you are playing with. You don't want the guy in the bb having 72 and flopping 2 pair do you?
Rectudid3
1 star member
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 3:03 pm

Postby Rectudid3 » Fri Jun 02, 2006 6:28 pm

Big Slick, or Big Killer!!   It's hard to say at times I will raised then other I'll just limp in, and in time I will go all in.. No wonder I'm getting kill with it, lol
Beake1970
1 star member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:01 am

Postby Beake1970 » Fri Jun 02, 2006 6:46 pm

AK IS MT FAVORITE HAND I USAULLY PUT BIG RAISE ID RATHER TAKE IT DOWN THERE OR NOT AT ALL!!
Whishavicale
1 star member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 5:23 am

Postby Whishavicale » Fri Jun 02, 2006 9:35 pm

i usually call or raise min, i have been cracked way to many times on the ole Anna Kornikova hands.  also if i only call or raise min it is easier for me to get away from the hand and not chase away

Return to “General strategy”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron