Only from late position

New to poker? This is the place to get the hang of it.

Moderator: Moderator

1 star member
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 12:53 am

should i play a hand like....

Postby Anyted » Sun Feb 05, 2006 4:37 pm

i was wondering if i should play a hand like king of spaces - five of spades? theres a possibility of a flush but im not sure if its worth a try...
1 star member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 12:27 pm

Postby Somblifir » Sun Feb 05, 2006 5:14 pm

u can play K5s from late postitiom, but only if there are a lot of callers infront of you. If there is a raise or only one player calls fold. There should be at leas 3 callers before you,  when u add big blind and (porbably) smal blind in the mix u get 5:1 odds.
3 star member
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 8:27 pm

Postby Confled » Sun Feb 05, 2006 5:56 pm

I would play that hand only if I had the BB or small blind wont hurt your chip count.
2 star member
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 11:20 pm


Postby Frothed » Sun Feb 05, 2006 7:18 pm

Thats a hard question to answer, so many factors to consider.
Your opponents , the type of game you are playing and the flow
of the game. Good judgement is the key !
2 star member
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:25 pm

Postby Sandid1975 » Sun Feb 05, 2006 8:00 pm

cmon people! K-5? thats kindergarten, u dont remember kindergarten? i do, and thats why i play this hand, ESPECIALLY SPADES!
2 star member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 5:16 am


Postby Andounized » Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:01 am

only in late position or if high chip count and 1 or 2 players in the pot but you have to carefull if fl hits and you have an all in you may be facing an A high fl
1 star member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 9:36 pm

Postby Pubjer2 » Sun Feb 12, 2006 12:48 pm

the only way i would play that hand is in late position and if i had enuf chips and a tight table image, and its not a hand that you would want to limp in with
1 star member
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 7:06 pm


Postby Licapeng » Sun Feb 12, 2006 7:47 pm

I'll play K5 from a late postion. Only not for alot of $$$$ and the cards have too be falling that way.
2 star member
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 7:01 pm

Only from late position

Postby Bescarrelus » Fri Feb 17, 2006 8:34 am

"Basically it really should not be a factor that those cards are suited, the bottom line is if the five pairs you probably wont have best hand.  And if there ends up being one king on the board there is a pretty high probability some one has a king with a better kicker/ It is worth seeing the flp from late postition but not worth calling a raise/.
1 star member
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 1:55 am

Postby Crivilt91 » Sun Feb 19, 2006 4:32 pm

I wouldnt touch k5 suited unless i could see the flop for a blind call - otherwise you're likely to get jumped on by a guy with A junk - be very careful with 2nd best hands
1 star member
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 3:21 am

Postby Strught2 » Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:56 pm

once in a WHILE u will get lucky and hit but mostly you'll be left limping with a weak K. Long term it's a waste no matter the game situation.
4 star member
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 3:56 am

Postby Comee1985 » Fri Feb 24, 2006 7:39 pm

that hand you can play just from late position when nobody raised! Even better is if there are lots of limpers, why not to join that party then? But with raise, or just one caller, that should be easy fold! Chasin flush can get you lots of chips in the end, but most of the time it can only get you in the trouble or out of the tourney!
3 star member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 7:28 pm

Postby Juseenoth82 » Fri Feb 24, 2006 11:55 pm

After the flop I ALWAYS consider that if an A or K flop,  SOMEONE will have paired it.  You may be that someone if you play this K 5 Suited.  Still you probably don't have the best hand.  Again considering that someone else like3ly paired on the flop,  I would have to consider my position in order to continue this hand.  Most times I could NOT call much of a bet even with top pair cause of the lousy kicker.  

If you're really hoping to flop the flush,  don't hold your breath, you'll turn blue first.
2 star member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 11:53 pm

Postby Billessic2 » Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:15 pm

any hand can be played its just a matter of when and how so if the blinds werent raisd and you are big blind my guess is that your k5 suit is not bad maybe its even worth a raise
1 star member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 1:17 am

Postby Crifel89 » Sat Feb 25, 2006 9:39 pm

Thats a hard question to answer, so many factors to consider.
Your opponents , the type of game you are playing and the flow
of the game. Good judgement is the key !

Return to “Beginner's Q & A”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest