comitted

Questions & Answers. Did you play that hand right? Ask the other forum members.

Moderator: Moderator

ACE-magnet
5 star member
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 12:28 pm

at what point are you pot committed?

Postby ACE-magnet » Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:21 am

how much of your stack can be in the middle and you still fold.? once half my stack is in the midlle im going all in ! unless i flop top two and the turn brings 4 suited cards and i got zero of that suit. something along those lines. ive seen ppl committ so many chips and then fold? i love when against me but i wondered what other think if you do at all when are you pot committed?
Doccujjoinds
1 star member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:13 am

It depends...

Postby Doccujjoinds » Wed Mar 30, 2005 11:08 pm

For me, I'm pot committed when I absolutely feel I've got the stuff. If I'm halfway through pot and I see there are quite a few other possibilities that could beat, it's better to eat crow and give it up and live for another hand. My only problem is getting caught up in a betting war and being beat by one upper card. Anyone have a suggestion for staying out of the betting wars?
Sages1989
3 star member
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 10:26 pm

Postby Sages1989 » Fri Apr 01, 2005 1:12 am

i use to loose a lot when op would put

me all in and i´d get cold feet and fold.

after i´d realize i´d just about put it all in anyway.

now, i´ll call a lot of these when there from

a jackel......and just about allways am right.

donvic
Hicked93
1 star member
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 8:27 am

Postby Hicked93 » Tue Apr 19, 2005 4:58 pm

im normaly pot committed as soon as 1/3 of my chips or more is in unless it dont happen till teh river.... i try to stay away from pre-flop bets cuz they normaly make me pot committed
Fary1975
2 star member
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 2:08 pm

Postby Fary1975 » Tue May 10, 2005 11:44 pm

i was playing a ring game once at AP and i had A9 clubs. flop came out 2 clubs and another suit. blinds were 5$/10$.guy bets like 20 so i call....4th street comes out with another red card so im thinkin my odds are a little better for a club comin out....guy bets like 50 and i call.....river comes and its a god damn :d .....i check again with about 80 bucks of mine in the pot and the guy bets like 10 bucks so i fold because i had ace high............he decides to be a dick and show his low ass trashy cards while he rakes in a $160 pot!!!!!! GOD DAMN BLUFFER.......guess thats poker.....gotta keep on keepin on..
Pred1984
4 star member
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 2:03 am

Postby Pred1984 » Sat Jul 23, 2005 7:52 pm

Pot committed is a subjective concept.  The situation where it typically comes up is when you have to decide whether to commit the last of your chips on a hand where you believe you're behind, even well behind.  If I think I have a decent chance to win, I'm pretty likely to go ahead, but if I'm well behind, I'd rather thake my chances with the short stack.
Divenountly
2 star member
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 11:59 pm

Postby Divenountly » Sun Dec 18, 2005 7:32 am

Has anyone ever just called a pot with a loosing hand because you already had a ton of chips in?
Duche1970
1 star member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:12 am

Pot Committed

Postby Duche1970 » Sun Dec 18, 2005 12:27 pm

Well Mary. from the post right above mine, I believe you have defined pot committed with your question.  However, never .. ever... call  a hand you know has been beaten as this will bring you from "Pot Committed" to "Should Be Committed"

Just an opinion, but I believe at no time its too late to fold and run like hell as there is only 1 hand that can't be beat and face it, everyone has been in the situation where the river comes up to complete an open ended while your holding your trips and have been swinging hard.  

Don't fear Common Sence Fold and run like you have never ran b4 :wink:

See you on the tables,
Vince
Haroven
2 star member
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 11:39 am

comitted

Postby Haroven » Sun Jan 01, 2006 8:02 pm

when over half of your chips are in a pot i think youre pretty much pot comitted.
Whadrect2
1 star member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2006 9:20 pm

Postby Whadrect2 » Sun Jan 01, 2006 8:23 pm

mmaryja1  -  if I know I am beat I will lay down the hand, but as a general rule if I get more than half my chips into the pot the rest will follow.

Some of the key factors to consider are the size of the blinds relative to your stack,  how late it is in the tourney, who the other player is, the number of outs I have etc.
Gagoem
4 star member
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 2:45 am

Postby Gagoem » Sun Jan 01, 2006 8:57 pm

I think it comes down to percentages.  If you're low-stacked, almost any A x or K x hand (x meaning any card) is good enough to declare yourself "pot committed".

I do agree that it's a big mistake to commit 50% or more of your chips and fold at the river.
Exas1995
2 star member
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 12:39 pm

Postby Exas1995 » Sun Jan 01, 2006 9:02 pm

i think it may be a bigger mistake to stay in a pot that you dont think you can win regardless of the number of chips you have in the pot.

Return to “Q & A”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron