book

New to poker? This is the place to get the hang of it.

Moderator: Moderator

Wilsock
1 star member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 12:27 pm

Poker books

Postby Wilsock » Fri Apr 15, 2005 9:38 pm

What is a good poker book for a beginner to read.
Tank
5 star member
Posts: 269
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 5:41 pm

books

Postby Tank » Sun Apr 17, 2005 10:28 pm

I am try to write one, but as I can't spell so good and am not the best poker player in the world I am play ger rizeing....lol told ya can't spell but I guess the guy that made the game famous Doyle Brunson's book would be a good place too start.....
m60
Trustre1982
1 star member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 2:16 am

Postby Trustre1982 » Sun Jun 05, 2005 5:26 pm

Good poker books depend on what type of player you are/ want to be. Super System by Doyle Brunson, and a lot of other professionals is a good all around book. Sklansky's Hold'em for the advanced player is a modern day scientific approach to poker. Caros' book on Poker Tells is good for otb games.
Cumpoing
1 star member
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 5:46 am

Postby Cumpoing » Sun Jun 12, 2005 5:20 pm

Sylvester Suzuki's Poker Tournament Strategies is a great book for a beginner.
Happone67
1 star member
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 4:01 am

Postby Happone67 » Mon Jun 13, 2005 10:43 pm

I enjoyed reading Mike Caros Book of Tells. That book has so much insight and saved me a lot of money at the live tables. The book pays for itself so I suggest everbody goes out and buys it!
Magas1995
1 star member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 1:42 am

good book

Postby Magas1995 » Wed Jun 15, 2005 5:56 pm

i agree with ace and m60... that was one of the first books i read and i have heard that the second one is even better. i would definately recommend this. i also bought lederer's hold em secrets on dvd. it was a lot of help and he really explains things well. he also shows you where in position to play your hands. i still watch it as a refresher course every now and then.
Beheriseed
1 star member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:08 am

Postby Beheriseed » Sun Jul 10, 2005 4:16 pm

I'm reading Brunson's Suuper System book, but that might not be good for a begginer.
Carthadvered
1 star member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 12:45 am

Postby Carthadvered » Tue Jul 12, 2005 7:05 pm

another good book is "No-Limit Texas Hold'em, by Brad Daugherty and Tome McEvoy
Pher1976
3 star member
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 2:56 am

Postby Pher1976 » Thu Jul 21, 2005 11:35 pm

I READ AND LIKE   "NO-LIMIT TEXAS HOLD'EM"  BY BRAD DAUGHERTY AND TOM MCEVOY
Showle
1 star member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 6:14 pm

Postby Showle » Sun Aug 07, 2005 4:38 pm

the first book i read was sklansky's no limit hold em. Everything i read after that didn't add too much to my game. It depends on your playing/learning style. Sklansky offers clear cut odds, which is great for me.
Folody79
2 star member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:24 pm

Postby Folody79 » Sun Aug 21, 2005 1:37 am

Lee Jones, Winning at Low Limit Poker 3rd Edition is one of the better books out there not only for beginners, but any low limit player. The last edition covers the S&G tourney.
ACE-magnet
5 star member
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 12:28 pm

Postby ACE-magnet » Thu Sep 08, 2005 4:29 am

anything by skalansky,mcevoy and cluotier is a good read.
Beginge
2 star member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 12:45 am

Postby Beginge » Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:41 pm

For the beginer player I would suggest two.   The first in Dan Harrington's "Hold'em Strategy for No Limit Tournaments."  The second one is David Sklanski's "The Theroy of Poker."
Tionevilly
5 star member
Posts: 153
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 12:03 pm

Postby Tionevilly » Sat Nov 05, 2005 7:45 am

Justfinished Hellmuths play poker like the pros.  I guess i havent read any others so i have nothing to compare it to but i was not that impressed. Think ill try Super System next. Other suggestions?
Youpirse2
1 star member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 2:23 pm

Postby Youpirse2 » Sat Dec 17, 2005 2:53 pm

That's good news on the Harrington book as I just asked for this as part of my Christmas list!  Wahoo...looking forward to reading this and checking it out.

Cheers and Happy Holidays.

BonusJunky

Return to “Beginner's Q & A”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron