aces

New to poker? This is the place to get the hang of it.

Moderator: Moderator

Gookishe
1 star member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 3:50 am

AA

Postby Gookishe » Wed May 31, 2006 3:06 am

What should you do with AA when the flop brings a pair and you get re raised
Hartmant
1 star member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 7:29 pm

Postby Hartmant » Fri Jun 02, 2006 7:26 pm

Well, I think it would depend on how quickly they raised and what your position is at the table.  Have had pocket rockets bite me in the but more than once.... gotta go with your gut.  :lol:
Comee1985
4 star member
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 3:56 am

Postby Comee1985 » Mon Jun 05, 2006 12:06 pm

Reraise him back to see what happens then, he still can just have over pocet pair, thats smaller then yours.
Anobaciping
1 star member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 3:26 pm

Postby Anobaciping » Thu Jun 08, 2006 5:24 pm

Hy!
I hate AA because i always loose!
Genes1995
newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:27 pm

Postby Genes1995 » Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:16 am

It is all flop-depended.

And of course - opponent dependent. How does he bets, what does he bets, what does he raises. It is either a pair or two pair or even may be a flush draw. Sometimes it can be a set(though, it is often slowplayed), if there is 2 suited cards on the flop.
Tumpal
1 star member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 8:04 pm

yes

Postby Tumpal » Fri Jun 09, 2006 7:00 am

depende flop
Scom1970
1 star member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 5:39 pm

Postby Scom1970 » Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:07 pm

it depends on what the other guy is doing.  look at his facial expressions, see if he's twitching, look at him, look at his cards.  it all depends on the opponent.
Shence
1 star member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:09 pm

Postby Shence » Wed Jun 14, 2006 4:25 pm

HMMM   AA  i think they lose so much may be best just to fold them little  :evil:  lol
Jessicasmom
Coveregs
2 star member
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 9:34 pm

Postby Coveregs » Sat Jun 17, 2006 8:39 pm

either reraise to see if he is bluffing, or if you feel that you are beat, than just call. if you're not gonna call with top two pair, than what are you going to call with? you still have outs going to the river and the turn
Ournothe93
1 star member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 1:05 am

Postby Ournothe93 » Sun Jun 18, 2006 2:11 pm

i know im new to poker,but what pair did the flop bring?
if he limped in or was the BB then its possible he's got anything but if he had to call a BB or a raise my theory is he's got big cards so if the pair on the board is low he's missed and the AA will be good,
or is that why i lose so often?lol
Laccand
1 star member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 12:34 pm

Postby Laccand » Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:29 pm

The age old question, what to do with rockets if youve been re raised. I think many different questions arise here. First off, position, position, position; of the re raiser and yourself. The hardest thing to do for any player is lay down a pocket pair, especially aces. I would look at the pot odds first and foremost. How much, in comparison to your chip stack, do you have invested in the pot, and how much return will you get on your money. Folding costs you nothing, but calling can cost you everything.

TheGreat1
Saffecre
newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 7:27 am

Postby Saffecre » Sun Jun 18, 2006 8:08 pm

Position of course, depends on the flop as well. Depends on the player. It all depends thats why you must pay attention to all players on the table before you get into a situation like that.
Whileme
newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 6:16 pm

Postby Whileme » Sun Jun 18, 2006 8:22 pm

I would be less worried about flopped trips if the raise comes on the flop, most players will flat call and "set a trap" as Mike Sexton has taught them.

If the raise comes on the turn, much more likely to be trips.


Kimmes
Broand
2 star member
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:55 pm

AA

Postby Broand » Fri Jun 23, 2006 3:32 pm

I have had a lot of luck with AA but I have gotten burned a lot with AK.  I used to think that was a great hand but the last 4 or 5 times i have been taken out with it...What a bummer.
Caresind
1 star member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 11:06 pm

aces

Postby Caresind » Sat Jun 24, 2006 5:24 pm

i always get ripped when i have aces but most likely you gotta stick with them

Return to “Beginner's Q & A”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron